Join Us   Facebook   Contact   
Build a New Gibbs Middle School


 
Click here to sign up for news and information about our efforts or send an email to gibbs@gibbsmiddlenow.com .

SCHOOL BOARD ADDS GIBBS MIDDLE TO CAPITAL PLAN

Great news! In case you haven't heard, we were successful in getting a new Gibbs Middle School added to the school board's budget for 2016 last night!

I want to say thank you to everyone who helped in this effort, especially CH Qualls and James Waddell who spoke on behalf of the community at the meeting and all of you who wrote letters, sent emails and came to meetings, as well as our 8th District Knox County Commissioner Dave Wright who has been working hard behind the scenes.

The next order of business is to thank the school board members who voted to add a new Gibbs Middle School to the capital plan. I hope they get as many thank you notes as they did requests from us to build a middle school. Please send your thank yous to the following:

Doug Harris - doug.harris@knoxschools.org
Tracie Sanger - tracie.sanger@knoxschools.org
Amber Rountree - amber.rountree@knoxschools.org
Patti Bounds - patti.bounds@knoxschools.org
Terry Hill - terry.hill@knoxschools.org

And a special thank you to our 8th District School Board member, Mike McMillan - mmcmillan.kcboard@gmail.com

Also please cc gibbs@gibbsmiddlenow.com so we can keep track of the thanks!

The next step is to get County Commission to fund the school system's capital budget. It will probably not be heard until their May meeting. We will announce a community meeting very soon to plan our next steps and make sure everyone is on the same page as we begin communicating with Mayor Burchett, County Commissioners, community members and the media.

We can do this but we need your help! I hope you will stay engaged as we move through this process.


Photo by Wes Clapp.

Gibbs Strong - we can do this!